Welcome new 8th grade students and parents!  Please complete the following contact form as soon as possible! 
We have important information to send home. 

You can also sign up for text message reminders by texting @mmsgrade8 to (847) 978-4371

Contact Information

MMS 8th Grade Team

 

Contact the Team

Team Email Address:


Please contact the team with any questions, comments, 
or concerns.

Teacher Contact Information

TeacherClassE-Mail Address
Mrs. Galanos Algebra II jgalanos@d118.org 
Mrs. Nakazaki Literature & Language Arts cnakazaki@d118.org 
Mrs. C. Carlson Literature & Language Arts & Honors Lit/LA ccarlson@d118.org 
Mr. Smyth Literature, Language Arts, & Social Studies msmyth@d118.org 
Mrs. Yegge Pre-Algebra tyegge@d118.org 
Mrs. Byers  Pre-Algebra & Algebra hbyers@d118.org 
Mrs. Kandler Science mkandler@d118.org 
Mrs. Kondela Science & Literature tkondela@d118.org 
Mr. Jurkowski Social Studies ajurkowski@d118.org 
Mrs. Dickow Special Ed.: Literature/LA, Math, Social Studies edickow@d118.org 
Mrs. T. Carlson Special Ed.: Literature/LA, Math, Social Studies tcarlson@d118.org 
Showing 11 items from page Teacher Contacts & Class Information sorted by Class, Teacher. View more »

Team Announcements

  • Weekly reminders will be sent out at the beginning of every week to the email address you provided the team! To sign up for text message reminders, text @mmsgrade8 to (847) 978-4371
  • Welcome back to school!

    Summer days always seem to go by way too quickly. It is a great time to relax and take small trips to many places. By the time August first rolls around many seem anxious for school to begin again and to re-establish routines.


    Hopefully, you were able to accomplish what you wanted and were able to spend quality time with your children.  As we begin our new school year,  we’re happy to have our students returning to school and we give a special welcome to the new students joining our neighborhood.


    We want your child to be happy and successful at Matthews Middle School and believe that you play a key role. That role is to continually show interest in and support for your child. The child who knows that his or her family is interested in and supports the school program will almost always have fewer problems in school and will enjoy greater success.


    At school, we try to create a safe environment where courtesy and kindness prevail and where there is respect for differences in other people, customs and cultures.  Please fill out the contact information form on our team website, so that we can share important announcements, reminders, and documents with you this year and feel free to share with our team any information regarding your child’s special needs that will help us better serve your family.  We believe that communication among parents, students and teachers is critical in assuring student success.


    Posted Jul 5, 2014, 2:04 PM by Christina Nakazaki
Showing posts 1 - 1 of 1. View more »
 

Recent Team Handouts

  • WHS Summer Reading Program Assignment.pdf   31k - May 12, 2014, 9:52 AM by Christina Nakazaki (v2)
  • Freshmen HS Summer Reading Program 2014.pdf   37k - May 12, 2014, 9:52 AM by Christina Nakazaki (v2)
  • MMS 8th Grade Spring Field Trip 2014.doc   0k - Apr 7, 2014, 7:08 AM by Christina Nakazaki (v2)
  • Graduation Fee-Info Letter.pdf   12k - Apr 7, 2014, 6:16 AM by Christina Nakazaki (v3)
Showing 4 files from page Team Handouts.

Attendance Reminder

Please call in your child’s absences by 8:00 a.m.!  
The school day begins promptly at 7:50 a.m. Regular attendance and punctuality are key to a student’s academic success.  Parents are asked to encourage regular attendance and to plan appointments and family vacations on the days when school is not in session. 
 
Homework Requests:  
Daily assignments are available on the team website and homework requests are encourage for students that are out for 2 or more days. Homework can be picked up, at the end of the school day, in the main office.

Attendance line: 847-526-6210 (press option 3)
*If you are making a homework request, please leave a message or email the team.

Text Message Reminders

21days until
1st Day of School

What's for Lunch?

Have You Heard?