Welcome new 8th grade students and parents!  Please complete the following contact form as soon as possible! 
We have important information to send home. 

You can also sign up for text message reminders by texting @mmsgrade8 to (847) 829-0833

Contact Information

MMS 8th Grade Team

Contact the Team

Team Email Address:


Please contact the team with any questions, comments, 
or concerns.

Teacher Contact Information

TeacherClassE-Mail Address
Mrs. Galanos Algebra II jgalanos@d118.org 
Mrs. Nakazaki Literature & Language Arts cnakazaki@d118.org 
Mrs. C. Carlson Literature & Language Arts & Honors Lit/LA ccarlson@d118.org 
Mr. Smyth Literature, Language Arts, & Social Studies msmyth@d118.org 
Mrs. Yegge Pre-Algebra tyegge@d118.org 
Mrs. Byers  Pre-Algebra & Algebra hbyers@d118.org 
Mrs. Kandler Science mkandler@d118.org 
Mrs. Kondela Science & Literature tkondela@d118.org 
Mr. Jurkowski Social Studies ajurkowski@d118.org 
Mrs. Dickow Special Ed.: Literature/LA, Math, Social Studies edickow@d118.org 
Mrs. T. Carlson Special Ed.: Literature/LA, Math, Social Studies tcarlson@d118.org 
Showing 11 items from page Teacher Contacts & Class Information sorted by Class, Teacher. View more »

Attendance Reminder

Please call in your child’s absences by 8:00 a.m.!  
The school day begins promptly at 7:50 a.m. Regular attendance and punctuality are key to a student’s academic success.  Parents are asked to encourage regular attendance and to plan appointments and family vacations on the days when school is not in session. 
 
Homework Requests:  
Daily assignments are available on the team website and homework requests are encourage for students that are out for 2 or more days. Homework can be picked up, at the end of the school day, in the main office.

Attendance line: 847-526-6210 (press option 3)
*If you are making a homework request, please leave a message or email the team.

Team Announcements

  • Weekly reminders will be sent out at the beginning of every week to the email address you provided the team! To sign up for text message reminders, text @mmsgrade8 to (847) 978-4371
  • Weekly Reminder: 8.25.14

    Happy Monday!

    Sign up for text message reminders by texting @mmsgrade8 to (847) 829-0833


    This Week's Reminders:

    Monday, August 25th:
    • Picture Day forms sent home in homeroom

    Wednesday, August 27th:
    • Literature: Story Element Test
    • Science Test
    Thursday, August 28th:
    • DUE: Field trip form and $
    • Curriculum Night @ 7:00pm

    Friday, August 29th:
    • Picture Day
    • Pre-Algebra Test

    Important Dates & Events for Next Week:


    Monday, Sept. 1st:
    • No School

    Thursday, Sept. 4th:
    • PTO meeting after school

    Please continue to check your child's assignment notebook every night. We post our daily list of assignments on the team website and leave a recording of the day's assignments on homework hotline 847-526-6210 ext.181.



    Grades are updated regularly on Power School. If you need assistance accessing the Power School Parent Portal, check out the Power School User Guide for Parents.


    If you have any further questions, please contact us at mms8thgradeteam@d118.org

    Posted Aug 25, 2014, 9:08 AM by Christina Nakazaki
Showing posts 1 - 1 of 4. View more »

Recent Team Handouts

  • Curriculum Night - 8th Grade Team Packet.pdf   2778k - Aug 22, 2014, 9:22 AM by Christina Nakazaki (v2)
  • PTO Membership Form   0k - Aug 21, 2014, 9:30 AM by Christina Nakazaki (v2)
  • Student Contact Information Form   0k - Aug 21, 2014, 9:25 AM by Christina Nakazaki (v2)
  • honors power point-2014 website version.ppt   396k - Aug 21, 2014, 9:21 AM by Christina Nakazaki (v2)
Showing 4 files from page Team Handouts.

8th Grade Testing Information

MAP Testing (Fall, Winter, & Spring Testing)


PARCC Testing (Spring Testing)

Text Message Reminders

15days until
1st Qtr Midterm

What's for Lunch?

Have You Heard?